Subscribe to ALL AT SEA

All At Sea - The Caribbean's Waterfront Magazine on Facebook

The 10th Karujet Orange Trophy - Honors to Guadeloupe

With the best waverunner riders in the world assembled in Guadeloupe, the Karujet Orange Trophy was an unmissable rendezvous for champions as well as those who like strong sensations. Over the 23, 24 and 25 March, the greatest riders in the world met in Guadeloupe to participate in the 10th Karujet Orange Trophy, considered to be the first preparatory step for the French and European Championships.

At the start, more than 10 nations were represented for the diverse disciplines included in the championship. The greatest riders, including the US’s Chris Mac Clugage, Russia’s Stanislav Shevelev, Croatia’s Davor Hundic, Hungary’s Andras Vagot, Italy’s Christian Speciale, Mexico’s Alex Morgan, England’s Lee Stone, and the Frenchmen Francky Zapata, Cyrille Lemoine, Laurent Aiello, Didier Navarro and Audrey Dujardin. All had a single objective: to become the new world champion!

The 95 riders were divided into competition over the following five disciplines: World Championship in Rallyjet, Rallyjet Promo, Rallyjet Expert, Ski and Freestyle. In the Rallyjet championship, Cyrille Lemoine, favorite and winner in 2006, was well-anticipated. On Friday, he showed his determination and finished in first place, well ahead of his Guadeloupean rivals, with all other favorites having encountered technical problems.

But the resurgence of an ancient knee injury the next day knocked all thoughts of victory on the head. And just as one person’s bad luck is another’s good fortune, the best Guadeloupean riders were the ones to benefit from the opportunity to run off with podium places. In this way, the 2007 World Rallyjet Championships crowned Guadeloupe.

For the first leg of the Freestyle Championship, Lee Stone was the real surprise. Runner up in 2006, he took first place on the podium followed by Romain Stampers and the Italian Valerio Calderoni.

The Championship in the Ski Division crowned the Croat Slaven Ivancic, and Audrey Dujardin for the women, with St. Martin’s Louis-Nathan Lavocat taking third place. In the Rallyjet Expert class, Dimitri Dacy snatched victory, while Armand Ribaud distinguished himself in the Amateur category, followed by Julien Georges and the Martiniquais David Finoly.

But the Karujet Orange Trophy is also an eagerly awaited get-together for spectators, who come to see the racing up close, to watch the activity in the paddocks, and the new champion. There is also an exhibition village, with a stunning illuminations show on the Darse in Pointe a Pitre on Friday evening, and a demonstration in the Ski Division with the first test in the Freestyle. Lee Stone, who was celebrating his 16th birthday, won ahead of Romain Stampers. After the Championship leg, they put on a display which blew the public away.

In a 5000m2 exhibition village, specially built for the event, including inflatable structures for children, food and craft stalls, people enjoyed themselves while following the races live on RFO. On the beach at Viard, the public was offered a range of games, amusements, tastings, exhibitions for the young and old, and was able to follow the preparations of the riders.

World Rallyjet Championship:
2- Philippe CHASTANET
3- Jean-Philippe DIES

First Leg Freestyle Championship:
1- Lee STONE
2- Romain STAMPERS
3- Valério CALDERONI

Ski Division Championship:
1- Slaven IVANCIC
2- Audrey DUJARDIN
3- Louis-Nathan LAVOCAT

Expert Rallyjet:
1- Dimitri DACY
3- Patrick RATHAR

Amateur Rallyjet:
1- Armand RIBAUD
2- Julien GEORGES
3- David FINOLY

blog comments powered by Disqus